Tag Archives: Mofeta & Jerre

DJ Akilles – Best of 2009 (mixtape)

DJ Akilles Best of 2009 (Front)

Dj Akilles has previously released two (as far as I know) mixtapes collecting the best, biggest and most influential tracks from the previous year. In 2006 he released The “Best of 2005″-mixtape through the site “Svensk Underjord” which mixed Swedish and American hip-hop. Last year he released “Best of 2008″ trough the Community/Blog Whoa which focused on Swedish hip-hop only. When it’s time to sum up the best tracks from 2009 he’s back to the concept of the 2005-mixtape and mixes both American and Swedish hip-hop.

31 tracks are mixed together by scratch and beat-juggling to form this mixtape that contains tracks from Snoop Dogg, Raekwon, Method Man & Redman, Jay-Z, Drake, Clipse, Organismen, Mofeta & Jerre, Ken Ring and many more. On top of this the mixtape also contains a brand new exclusive track from Professor P & Dj Akilles called “Each and Every Station”. Professor P & Dj Akilles will release a new EP later this year, so this could be a taste of what’s coming.

Click here to download “Best of 2009″ from Dj Akilles Blog.

  1. Intro
  2. Snoop Dogg – I Wanna Rock
  3. Raekwon feat. Ghostface Killah & Method Man – New Wu
  4. Blaq Poet – Ain’t Nuttin’ Changed
  5. Method Man & Redman – A-Yo
  6. M.O.P. feat Redman – Riding Through
  7. Royce Da 5’9” feat. Phonte – Something 2 Ride 2
  8. Mos Def feat. Talib Kweli – History
  9. Asher Roth – I Love College
  10. Edo. G & Masta Ace – Over There
  11. The Game – Bang Along
  12. Jay-Z – D.O.A. (Death Of Auto-Tune)
  13. Fat Joe feat. Raekwon & TA – Ice Cream
  14. Busta Rhymes Feat. Jamie Foxx, Mary J. Blige, John Legend & Common – Decision
  15. Q-Tip – Blue Girl
  16. Method Man & Redamn – Mrs. International
  17. Kid Cudi feat. Kanye West & Common – Make Her Say (I Poke Her Face)
  18. Wale feat. Lady Gaga – Chillin
  19. DJ Quick & Kurupt – Blaqout
  20. Michael Jackson – This Is It (DJ Akilles Refix)
  21. J Dilla feat. Havoc & Raekwon – 24k Rap
  22. Organismen – Den Vita Kaninen
  23. Clipse feat. Cam’ron – Popular Demand (Popeyes)
  24. Drake feat. Kanye West, Lil Wayne & Eminem – Forever
  25. Mofeta & Jerre – Sitter Som En Smäck
  26. Drake – Best I Ever Had
  27. Camp Lo feat. Tyler Woods – Gotcha
  28. Raekwon feat. Lyfe Jennings – Catalina
  29. Eminem feat. Dr. Dre & 50 Cent – Crack A Bottle
  30. Slaughterhouse – The One + Travis Barker Remix
  31. Ken Ring – Hiphop
  32. BONUS TRACK: Professor P & DJ Akilles – Each And Every Station

Chords – Live at Stockholms Kulturfestival!

Brunkebergs Torg, Stockholm
Saturday, August 16
21.00 – 22.30


01. Night time comes
02. Stay hungry (end of the song with the “Bad Boy 4 Life“-beat)
03. No time like The present
04. Wrap your chops (end of the song with the “I got 5 on it“-beat)
05. Places to go
06. On The grind (chorus and his verse)
07. På din grinn feat. Organism 12
08. Andrahandskontrakt feat. Öris (T.R)
09. Allt jag vet feat. Mofeta & Jerre (Chords kicking “Bara när jag är full”)
10. Det brinner i paris feat. Timbuktu
11. Det löser sig feat. Timbuktu
12. Internet friends
13. Strangers in the light
14. Luckiest man alive

Extra: Knockin’ on my door

I’m a very big fan of Chords but I’ve only managed to see him live 2 times in 5 years, well I’ve seen him as “Helt Off” and of course together with Timbuktu but solo concerts by Chords is still a pretty rare thing. So when i found out that he was doing 2 gigs in Stockholm (one on my first and only day off in 2 weeks!) I was psyched!

I went to both gigs, the first was at “Club Spiderdogs” but I’ll not go into details about that concert since it was nothing in comparison to the gig he did the day after (it also might have to do with the fact that I was a bit drunk during the first gig).

The show kick-starts with Moe and Spider Dogs gradually building up the beat to “Night Time Comes” and by the time Chords enters the stage the crowd is already wild! Spider dogs really does an amazing job and it really ads a lot of extra energy to the show. Wrap your chops is really something extra when you see it with a live band and when the whole crowd is screaming “high, high, high” during the chorus and Spider Dogs stats playing the beat to Luniz classic track “I Got 5 On It” I find it hard to imagine that the show will get any better than this. Wrong!

This gig is full of guests and when he’s done with his verse and chorus from “on the grind” he suddenly starts to sing the chorus from “På din grinn” and Organism 12 jumps up on stage, followed by Öris and then Mofeta. We’ve been promised a secret guest and after Mofeta has left the stage the band starts to play “Det brinner i Paris” and Timbuktu runs out on stage, by now the crowd has gone ballistic! You can really see that these two guys has shared a stage hundreds of times, they could probably jump up on stage together without rehearsing and give one hell of a gig!

The whole show was amazing and it makes one really wonder how anyone in the right mind can choose “Broder Daniel” before Chords. All I can say is that if you went to “The Voice 08″-show (why the hell would anyone do that!?) or just stayed home you really missed out on something! Big up to JuJu Records for the photo from the show!

I can’t record video clips with my phone and I don’t have access to a camera so to really show you how good “Wrap Your Chops is with a live band I thought I would give you a clip from the gig at “Joe’s Pub” a couple of years ago, enjoy!